Technical Award Update - certification for 2019

12 September 2017

There are a number of technical awards, which have not been approved for league table points, in the latest update of qualifications counting in the 2019 performance tables. The list was released at the beginning of September. The qualifications include Pearson’s BTEC First Award IT and the following AQA qualifications:

  • child learning and development

  • fashion and textiles

  • food and catering

  • health and social care

  • IT

  • material technology

  • sport

  • STEM

  • visual communication

The qualifications are approved for Section 96 funding (meaning they can be offered in state-funded schools and colleges) but they will not count towards DfE performance tables in 2019. Awarding organisations will keep centres informed on approval for later exam series. The DfE encourages schools to make decisions about what is on the published list.

ASCL is making it clear to the DfE that the lateness of this decision makes planning in schools impossible and creates workload for teachers as well as uncertainty for pupils. We are urging the DfE to have a closer alignment between its work and the planning cycle in schools.